Many gods

Standard

During my Bible study, I have been challenged to look for gods in my life.  I do love Jesus so very much, but as I’ve searched my heart, I’ve found some nasty spots, some of which I am extremely ashamed.  I never realized how many things I unconsciously put at a higher priority than my Savior.

I know that it is easy for all of us to get caught up in this thing we call “life” and forget the whole purpose of our living–to live and love like Jesus and to share Him with everyone we encounter.

1 Corinthians 8:6 – “yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom are all things and we exist for Him; and one Lord, Jesus Christ, by whom are all things, and we exist through Him.”

From now on, I’ve decided I’m going to take the Hulk’s approach on my life’s gods because none are bigger than my Savior, my God.  I serve and love a mighty God who will help me defeat life’s “puny gods” and rid them from my heart.

Revelation 19: 16 – “And on His robe and on His thigh He has a name written, ‘KING OF KINGS, AND LORD OF LORDS.'”

I’m thankful that my mighty God (the King of all kings and the Lord of all lords) is patient with me and willing to help me cleanse my life of everything unholy, everything not of Him.

About erintreadwell

Personal: I grew up in the small town of Brewton, Alabama with three older siblings and the best parents a girl could've hoped for. My parents' guidance has been paramount to the woman I have become today. They showed me how to love like Jesus on a daily basis and taught me the importance of giving back to my community. My parents instilled in me a passion for helping people through their selflessness. Although I fail miserably at times, these important lessons will be a part of who I am for the rest of my life. Because of my parent's life-lessons, I have learned the importance of church and community involvement. I love my new church family in Tuscaloosa, and I am always expectant for God to use me in whatever way He wills. I am also deeply passionate about community causes like child hunger as well as global causes like freedom from all types of slavery. One of my favorite lessons was about my future spouse. My mother told me, "Find someone who is smarter than you and, MOST IMPORTANTLY, will be the spiritual leader of your family." I prayed for this man for many years, and when I was about to give up, God put Brad directly in my path. I found God's man, the man my mother described to me all those years ago. I hope that I make my God, my parents and my husband immeasurably proud through my life's mission to love and share Jesus with all those I encounter. Academic: After graduating from Flomaton High School in 2005, I attended Auburn University, where I got an English degree in 2009. I graduated on December 15, 2012 with a public relations degree from the University of Alabama. Professional: After I graduated from Auburn, I took a teaching job at my high school alma mater where I taught English for a year and a half. After May 2011, I moved to Tuscaloosa to be with my husband who works at a local company, Phifer, Inc. In Februar 2013, I began working as the development coordinator for United Cerebral Palsy of West Alabama. I do fundraising and public relations for UCPWA. I have a professional passion for design, writing, crisis communication, strategic planning and organizational communication. I'm particularly fond of corporate and nonprofit PR because you get to be a connoisseur of everything PR.

Leave a comment